Norton, MA – The forty-ninth Francis Ouimet Memorial Tournament will visit two new and classic venues for 2016. It opens at the Hyannisport Club on Wednesday, July 27, 2016, continues at Oyster Harbors Club on Thursday, July 28, and concludes at Woodland Golf Club on Friday, July 29.

“We are thrilled to announce that we’ll visit Hyannisport and Oyster Harbors for the first time this year. These are two Cape Cod classics that the field should really enjoy. They are also great supporting clubs of the Ouimet Fund. We’ll finish at Woodland, as always, where Mr. Ouimet played as a member,” said Richard F. Connolly, Jr., the Ouimet Memorial Tournament Chairman who is serving in his 38th year in that role.

Hyannisport and Oyster Harbors are considered two of the finest courses on Cape Cod, and both Donald Ross architectural gems. Hyannisport was opened in 1897 and is renowned for its lovely seaside setting and spectacular views, and small greens and winds which can make it play much harder than the yardage shows. Oyster Harbors Club is on a beautiful island in Osterville, and was designed by Ross in 1927. It is known for its rolling hills, narrow well-groomed fairways and oversized greens.

Mr. Connolly explained that the Ouimet Memorial would, again, have three divisions in 2016 – Championship, Eddie Lowery (Senior), and a limited one-round Women’s field.  The Ouimet Memorial is an invitational tournament played at three courses in three days, and always considered one of the premier amateur events in the Northeast.  The field is cut to low 40 and ties for the final round at Woodland. Proceeds of the event benefit the Francis Ouimet Scholarship Fund.

Mr. Connolly went on to speak of the 2015 Championship. Peter French of Maplegate opened with a 68 at Essex for the first round lead, fell to 12th with a 2nd round 77 at Myopia, and closed with birdies on 8 of the last 10 holes at Woodland for a final round 66 and the Ouimet title. His one-under 211 total earned a three-shot victory over Billy Walthouse of Longmeadow and Matt Naumec of GreatHorse. French was an All-American at Johnson & Wales in Miami. Kevin Carey of Dennis Pines won his second straight Eddie Lowery Senior Division title, edging 2010 champ Jack Kearney of Elmcrest by two shots.  Pam Kuong of Charles River recorded her first OMT Women’s Division Championship with a 75.  She closed a great 2015 season with a runner-up finish in the U.S. Women’s Senior Amateur Championship.

The Ouimet Memorial started in 1968 after the death the preceding year of its namesake.  Ben Murphy of Norfolk won the inaugural Tournament. Champions over the years have included prominent national-level players such as Ed Tutwiler (1969) and Jerry Courville (1973). Ouimet Champions who went onto the PGA TOUR include Bill Mallon (1972), Bruce Douglass (1976), Brad Faxon (1980), and Fran Quinn, Jr. (1987). Jack Whelan (2012 & 2014), Bob Bradley (1985 & 1988), Frank Vana, Jr. (1998, 2001, 2002, 2006 & 2010), Jim Renner (2003 & 2005), John Gilmartin (2004 & 2011) and Matt Parziale (2009 and 2014) are the only Ouimet multiple winners.




Stay Connected



Join Us