Ouimet Memorial Tournament

50th Ouimet Memorial Tournament

July 26 – July 28, 2017

Brae Burn Country Club, The Country Club, Woodland Golf Club12472499_10154318354749043_6242371443427134112_n



Entry Fees

  • Championship Division – $250
  • Lowery Division – $250
  • Women’s Division – $100




Participation in this event is by INVITATION ONLY.

Registration links for invited participants will be posted shortly.


Event History

The Francis Ouimet Memorial Tournament was founded in 1968, one year after the death of Mr. Ouimet. The event was originally founded by a group of his friends at Woodland Golf Club, where Francis Ouimet was a member and played much of his golf.

The first tournament began with quite a splash. The Tournament selection committee for the prestigious invitational included many local and nationally prominent players. A special highlight at that first tournament was an exhibition at Woodland on Thursday featuring previous Honorary Chairman Gene Sarazen, U.S. Amateur champion Ted Bishop, Pennsylvania’s Bill Hyndman, and host pro Ancy Doyle. Eddie Lowery also used to attend the first few Tournaments, coming from Pebble Beach, California. Lowery always viewed this as a special homecoming, who had gained fame as Mr. Ouimet’s caddie in 1913. Lowery also was the caddiemaster at Woodland later on.

At the beginning, the Tournament was played at Woodland, Brae Burn and Charles River and occasionally at The Country Club. For the last 30 years the first 36 holes have been played on successive days on two different fine courses in Massachusetts, but the final round, after the cut to the low 40 and ties, is always played at Woodland.

Following the 49th annual edition of the Ouimet Memorial Tournament, officials from the Francis Ouimet Scholarship Fund and the MGA announced that the two organizations will be transitioning management responsibilities for this prestigious golf event which debuted in 1968. Click here to read more about that historic announcement.

WAGR Counting Event

The World Amateur Golf Ranking (WAGR), which comprises a women’s ranking and a men’s ranking for elite amateur players, is offered by The R&A and the USGA as a global service to golf. WAGR is updated every Wednesday on www.wagr.com and is available to national federations and organizers of amateur and professional events and tours for purposes of offering exemptions, selecting national teams and assembling Orders of Merit.

WAGR currently incorporates over 4,000 events with over 10,000 players and endeavors to be the most comprehensive and accurate ranking in golf by effectively comparing players from around the world who may never directly compete against one another.

Richard F. Connolly, Sr. Trophy

Richard F. Connolly, Jr., has been the Tournament Chairman since 1979. Mr. Connolly also donated the permanent trophy for the tournament in 1990, which was named after his late father, Richard F. Connolly, Sr. The trophy is one of the most unique in American sports. The trophy is built around the clubs which were used by Francis Ouimet, Harry Vardon and Ted Ray and were contributed to The Fund by Dr. Gary Wiren, a famed golf historian. A new silver golf ball is hung every year from the shaft of one of the clubs. The ball is inscribed with the winner’s name and year and a replica is given to the winner.

2016 Championship Highlights

Matt Naumec made a tremendous downhill 20 footer for birdie on Woodland Golf Club’s treacherous 16th hole to break open a see – saw final round and went on to a three shot victory in the 49th Francis Ouimet Memorial Tournament on Friday. The Boston College sophomore from GreatHorse negotiated the double – breaker as Doug Clapp of Old Sandwich and Jacob Leavitt of Cattail Creek in Maryland both bogeyed for a two shot swing. Naumec finished with a 1-over par 73 and a 6-under 209 total in the prestigious 54-hole amateur invitational event played at three different courses.

In the Eddie Lowery Senior Division, Joe Walker of Dennis Pines also showed he could make up for past misfortune as he closed with a 75 for a 219 total and a three shot victory over Dave Houghton of The Captains. Julia Ford of Cyprian Keyes survived a three – hole playoff to win the Women’s Division, adding to the title she also took in 2014. Read More




Stay Connected



Join Us